In Memory Of Gianluigi Gasparetti (aka Oöphoi), 1958 – 2013

Gianluigi Gasparetti – known as Oöphoi in the contemporary electronic/drone/ambient music circle – died on April 12, 2013 at just 55 years of age.

This might be an ordinary piece of sad news like many others these days. But for me it’s much worse this time, given that Gigi – as everybody called him – had been my inseparable best friend for 22 precious years, from 1982 to 2004, after which we lost contact entirely (though he lived pretty near to where I’m currently based, making the situation feel even more absurd).

I cannot even begin to tell you how many experiences, personal reflections, comments on records and movies, and HUGE laughs we shared over the course of those 22 years. And I don’t forget that it was he, the founder of a quarterly called Deep Listenings (a referential nod to Pauline Oliveros), who gave me a go for writing about music – in Italian – in 1992.

I regret the lack of phone calls between the two of us in the last period. Never arguing or seriously disagreeing on anything, always laughing about someone or something, we were like brothers and knew our respective family members well. And yet, I didn’t even know that he had been battling cancer for years.

But I stopped trying to understand the mechanisms of life a long time ago. Profound sadness is what remains, together with a lot of funny memories. I’m feeling older by the minute.

Thanks for your friendship, G. Wherever and in whatever form you are now… droning, I’m sure.

Yours,
Massimo

Posted in Uncategorized